'Disgraceful': Mairis Briedis lands illegal elbow en route to controversial WBO title win (VIDEO)
Breidis, who was fighting in front of his home support, landed an elbow to the head of Glowacki as he exited from a clinch.
Referee Robert Byrd seemed to miss the illegal shot, and the Polish fighter was knocked down a further two times - the second of which came after the bell. Bredis finished the fight in the third round with a powerful right hand.
1/3 - CONTROVERSY! Mairis Briedis stops Krzysztof Glowacki in the 3rd round.The fight was full of controversy starting with this elbow in the 2nd round... pic.twitter.com/hZTDiEJsJf— Sky Sports Boxing (@SkySportsBoxing) June 15, 2019
Speaking afterwards, Breidis said that his illegal shot was retaliation for a strike Glowacki landed to the back of his head.
"I think the referee didn't do nothing, then I did a little bit of a dirty punch but I'm sorry for how I responded, it's my old Muay Thai style," he said.
The controversial fight was the semi-final of the Super Series and ensured his passage to the final bout against against IBF champion Yunier Dorticos, where both the WBO and IBF belts will be up for grabs in the Super Series final - won last year by Oleksandr Usyk.
🥊WBSS CONTROVERSY Hugely controversial fight in Riga as Briedis KOs Glowacki in the third round - this after he had elbowed him in the face after a behind the head punch and then landed a severe knockdown long after the bell had sounded. Wow! #BriedisGlowacki@WBSuperSeriespic.twitter.com/UrI1gTwwt6— Boxing-UK 🥊🇬🇧 (@Boxing_UK_) June 15, 2019
SkySportsBoxing "2/3 - Mairis Briedis then knocked down Glowacki twice. However, the second knockdown came after the bell! pic.twitter.com/ozl9DUHIlx"— Boxing Today (@Boxing_Today) June 15, 2019
I am not an expert but this moment is really strange. You can see it here from different angle. Also reaction from Glowacki team. #briedisglowacki#alitrophy#mairisbriedis#wbsuperseries@WBSuperSeriespic.twitter.com/0NGoBaOqwr— Paulius Jakelis (@PauliusJakelis) June 16, 2019
One of the worst refereeing decisions I have ever seen. Mairis Briedis clearly elbowed Glowacki in the face right in front of the ref & he did nothing! Then allowed the first round to continue a clear 10 seconds after the bell rang. Very dangerous refereeing #cruiserweight— Gary Leitch Jr. (@Leitchy03) June 15, 2019
Wow just caught up on Mairis Briedis TKO3 over Glowacki. Absolutely disgraceful lack of professionalism from Briedis with that clearly intentional cheap shot elbow. Should’ve been a DQ. That did far more damage than any punch, & Glowacki got caught immediately afterwards #boxing— Ryan (@BoxingAddiction) June 15, 2019