icon bookmark-bicon bookmarkicon cameraicon checkicon chevron downicon chevron lefticon chevron righticon chevron upicon closeicon v-compressicon downloadicon editicon v-expandicon fbicon fileicon filtericon flag ruicon full chevron downicon full chevron lefticon full chevron righticon full chevron upicon gpicon insicon mailicon moveicon-musicicon mutedicon nomutedicon okicon v-pauseicon v-playicon searchicon shareicon sign inicon sign upicon stepbackicon stepforicon swipe downicon tagicon tagsicon tgicon trashicon twicon vkicon yticon wticon fm

US and Canada will close border to 'nonessential' traffic due to coronavirus - Trump

US and Canada will close border to 'nonessential' traffic due to coronavirus - Trump
The US will close its borders with Canada to all “nonessential” traffic, US President Donald Trump has announced, pledging that trade between the two countries will not be affected and promising more details to come.

Trump announced the impending closure by tweet on Wednesday morning, emphasizing the decision had been made “by mutual consent” with Canadian PM Justin Trudeau and stressing that the move - which did not come with a planned date - would not impact trade.

Trudeau himself had closed the Canadian border to non-citizens on Monday due to the coronavirus epidemic, and Trump had said on Tuesday that he was discussing the border situation “very closely” with both his Canadian counterpart and Mexican President Andres Manuel Lopez Obrador. A Trump administration official told CNN that same day that the two countries would be issuing a joint statement within the next 48 hours regarding the suspension of non-essential travel.

Also on rt.com Canada is closed: PM Trudeau locks down country to foreign citizens except US nationals over coronavirus

The decision stops short of adding Canadians to the growing list of countries whose citizens are completely barred from entering the US due to high coronavirus risk. All Chinese and Iranian nationals, as well as citizens of Schengen Area EU countries, the UK, and Ireland, have been forbidden to enter the US - as is anyone who visited any of those countries within 14 days of arriving in the US. Even US citizens who recently passed through the viral no-mans-land must fly into one of 13 selected airports and undergo “enhanced entry screening” to reenter their homeland.

Some 6,519 coronavirus cases have been diagnosed in the US as of Wednesday, affecting all 50 states, and 115 infected people have died. Canada has 598 cases, with just eight deaths thus far. The epidemic has exploded in size since it first surfaced to global attention over three months ago in Wuhan, China, infecting more than 200,000 people worldwide. 

Also on rt.com Weed & maple syrup: What people are panic buying in different countries amid growing Covid-19 crisis

Think your friends would be interested? Share this story!

Dear readers and commenters,

We have implemented a new engine for our comment section. We hope the transition goes smoothly for all of you. Unfortunately, the comments made before the change have been lost due to a technical problem. We are working on restoring them, and hoping to see you fill up the comment section with new ones. You should still be able to log in to comment using your social-media profiles, but if you signed up under an RT profile before, you are invited to create a new profile with the new commenting system.

Sorry for the inconvenience, and looking forward to your future comments,

RT Team.