icon bookmark-bicon bookmarkicon cameraicon checkicon chevron downicon chevron lefticon chevron righticon chevron upicon closeicon v-compressicon downloadicon editicon v-expandicon fbicon fileicon filtericon flag ruicon full chevron downicon full chevron lefticon full chevron righticon full chevron upicon gpicon insicon mailicon moveicon-musicicon mutedicon nomutedicon okicon v-pauseicon v-playicon searchicon shareicon sign inicon sign upicon stepbackicon stepforicon swipe downicon tagicon tagsicon tgicon trashicon twicon vkicon yticon wticon fm

Trump's attorney-general pick Sessions clears committee hurdle, faces Senate vote

Trump's attorney-general pick Sessions clears committee hurdle, faces Senate vote
Jeff Sessions, a Republican senator from Alabama nominated to head President Donald Trump's Department of Justice, was cleared for a Senate confirmation vote by the Judiciary Committee after a long and contentious debate.

The final vote was 11 in favor and 9 opposed, along party lines.

The vote was originally planned for Tuesday, but the committee meeting dragged on for hours, as one Democrat after another argued that Sessions was a bigot who suppressed African-American votes as Alabama’s attorney general and played a key role in engineering President Trump’s executive actions on immigration, refugees and travelers from seven Muslim-majority countries.

Committee chairman Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa) had to adjourn the meeting at 2pm and schedule a continuation from Wednesday morning, with two more Democratic senators claiming 20 minutes each to voice their opposition.

Democrats on the Finance Committee tried a different strategy to block the vote on Steven Mnuchin for Treasury and Tom Price for Health and Human services, by not showing up for the scheduled vote on Tuesday. In response the Republican majority suspended the rule that required at least one minority member to be present and approved both nominees 14-0 on Wednesday morning.

As of January 31, the Senate has only approved five Trump administration officials: secretaries of defense, homeland security and transportation, the CIA chief, and the ambassador to the UN. The floor vote on the secretary of state is scheduled for Wednesday, while seven more nominees are in line for the floor vote.

Dear readers and commenters,

We have implemented a new engine for our comment section. We hope the transition goes smoothly for all of you. Unfortunately, the comments made before the change have been lost due to a technical problem. We are working on restoring them, and hoping to see you fill up the comment section with new ones. You should still be able to log in to comment using your social-media profiles, but if you signed up under an RT profile before, you are invited to create a new profile with the new commenting system.

Sorry for the inconvenience, and looking forward to your future comments,

RT Team.