Illegal blow disqualification will cost McGregor 90% of fight purse – Mayweather
Many have speculated that brash Irishman McGregor may resort to a martial arts move in an attempt to end the billion-dollar crossover fight, whether in frustration or in an act of showmanship at the T-Mobile Arena, Las Vegas.
But Mayweather claims the UFC hotshot will lose "90 pecent or more" of his estimated purse (which could equal $67.5 million) for the fight, should he use any strike that goes against boxing’s Queensberry rules.
Mayweather made the claims while appearing on American talk show Jimmy Kimmel Live, where he and host Jimmy Kimmel were working their way through available prop bets for the fight when Kimmel put a question to Mayweather.
“What if Conor kicks you in the head, what are you gonna do? I know it’s against the rules,” Kimmel enquired.
The fighter, nicknamed ‘Money’, replied: “That’s a fine, that’s a huge fine. I don’t think he wants to lose probably 90 percent of his money or even more. I don’t know what it’s going to be, but it’s going to be a heavy fine.”
Mayweather dismissed any claims he himself had designs on using any martial arts moves on McGregor, stating: “I’m not gonna do that. I follow by the Queensberry rules of boxing.”
Mayweather also told Kimmel that he categorically believes the fight will not go the full 12 round scheduled distance.
On Wednesday, the Nevada State Athletic Commission approved the use of 8oz gloves for the fight, originally a request from the McGregor camp.