icon bookmark-bicon bookmarkicon cameraicon checkicon chevron downicon chevron lefticon chevron righticon chevron upicon closeicon v-compressicon downloadicon editicon v-expandicon fbicon fileicon filtericon flag ruicon full chevron downicon full chevron lefticon full chevron righticon full chevron upicon gpicon insicon mailicon moveicon-musicicon mutedicon nomutedicon okicon v-pauseicon v-playicon searchicon shareicon sign inicon sign upicon stepbackicon stepforicon swipe downicon tagicon tagsicon tgicon trashicon twicon vkicon yticon wticon fm
9 Jul, 2010 15:37

EU pushes recognition of Kosovo

The European Parliament has called on five member states to recognize the independence of Kosovo.

Spain, Slovakia, Romania, Cyprus and Greece are the only EU states yet to support the sovereignty of the region, which broke away from Serbia in 2008.

Members of the European Parliament say recognition by all members is necessary to work out a common foreign policy toward Kosovo.

Stylianos Chrysostomidis, a journalist from Athens, explained to RT why he thinks the five countries are against recognition.