Real Madrid win Champions League final, defeating Juventus 4 - 1

Real Madrid win Champions League final, defeating Juventus 4 - 1
Real Madrid have won the Champions league defeating Italian champions Juventus four goals to one on a momentous night in Cardiff.

Fresh from their first La Liga triumph in five years, the Spanish giants won the Champions league for the second year running with a commanding performance over the Italian champions Juventus.

Real Madrid have now won a total of 12 European Cups, by far the highest tally among Europe’s elite clubs.

It is the first time a team has won back-to-back titles in the modern iteration of Europe's elite club competition and Zinedine Zidane’s side did so in style.

Cristiano Ronaldo placed a beautiful shot into Buffon's net on 20 minutes, but 7 minutes later Mario Mandzukic scored one of the goals of the tournament as he deftly controlled the ball on his chest before lobbing the goalkeeper with an exquisite overhead.

🔥 🔥 🔥 Amazing from every angle... Take a bow @mariomandzukic_official 👏 #UCLfinal

A post shared by #UCLfinal (@uefachampionsleague) on

That was to be the highlight of the game for Juventus. Madrid turned the screw in the second half with Brazilian midfielder Casemiro breaking Italian hearts with a speculative long shot that took a wicked deflection ending up in the legendary keeper Gianluigi Buffon’s net.

‘The Old Lady’ had been hopeful of securing their first Champions league title since 1996 but a third goal, and a second on the night for Ronaldo, assured that Juventus were sunk by a far superior Madrid team on the night.

Juve’s misery was compounded by the petty sending off of winger Juan Cuadrado, who was only on the pitch for 19 minutes, and the scoring of a fourth goal by substitute Asensio on 90 minutes.

Madrid’s domination of Europe continues, it’s now two in two years for the Spaniards and two in a row for Real Madrid and Juventus legend Zinedine Zidane as manager. The mercurial Frenchman played in two finals for Juventus, and twice lost before finally winning the competition with Los Blancos in 2002.