Euro 2016: Griezmann is Player of tournament; Ronaldo makes to All Star team

Euro 2016: Griezmann is Player of tournament; Ronaldo makes to All Star team
Four of Portugal's Euro 2016 winning squad have been chosen in UEFA's official Team of the Tournament, with three Germans, two French and two Welsh players making up the rest of the tournament XI.

France forward Griezmann's six goals during Euro 2016 saw him win both the Golden Boot and Player of the Tournament awards.

According to UEFA chief technical officer Ioan Lupescu, Griezmann picked up the top player accolade because he had been a threat in every game he played.

"He works hard for his team and possesses technique, vision and quality finishing," said Lupescu.

"The technical observers were in unanimous agreement that he was the tournament's outstanding player."

Star forward Cristiano Ronaldo was selected along with goalkeeper Rui Patrício, while defenders Pepe and Raphael Guerreiro completed the Portuguese quartet.

Portugal's Renato Sanches collected the SOCAR Young Player of the Tournament award to cap an outstanding breakthrough season.

Sanches started as substitute in three of the first four games, but after starting the quarter-final against Poland he wrote his name in the record books by becoming the youngest player to score in a knockout game at the European Championships.

At 18 years and 328 days he became the youngest player to play in the final and its youngest winner after Portugal won 1-0 after extra-time against France.

The team was selected by UEFA's 13-strong panel of technical observers, led Ioan Lupescu and including Sir Alex Ferguson, Alain Giresse and Thomas Schaaf.

Ferguson, UEFA's coaching ambassador, said: "After quite a bit of deliberation, the observers chose a team that features the best performing players from the best performing teams at UEFA Euro 2016.

"We have chosen dominant central defenders; full-backs who can defend and attack; deep-lying midfielders who can control the game and dynamic, flexible and creative attackers, all of whom have the ability to create and score goals.

"We believe that the selected XI represents the best of the competition."

The final team was (4-2-3-1): Rui Patricio (Portugal); Joshua Kimmich (Germany), Jerome Boateng (Germany), Pepe (Portugal), Raphael Guerreiro (Portugal); Toni Kroos (Germany), Joe Allen (Wales); Antoine Griezmann (France), Aaron Ramsey (Wales), Dimitri Payet (France); Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal).