icon bookmark-bicon bookmarkicon cameraicon checkicon chevron downicon chevron lefticon chevron righticon chevron upicon closeicon v-compressicon downloadicon editicon v-expandicon fbicon fileicon filtericon flag ruicon full chevron downicon full chevron lefticon full chevron righticon full chevron upicon gpicon insicon mailicon moveicon-musicicon mutedicon nomutedicon okicon v-pauseicon v-playicon searchicon shareicon sign inicon sign upicon stepbackicon stepforicon swipe downicon tagicon tagsicon tgicon trashicon twicon vkicon yticon wticon fm
28 Jan, 2016 18:10

NFL Pro Bowl 2016: Irvin and Rice pick final rosters

NFL Pro Bowl 2016: Irvin and Rice pick final rosters

The NFL’s third annual Pro Bowl draft took place on Wednesday, with Seattle Seahawks quarterback Russell Wilson as the first player picked by team captain Michael Irvin.

Rival captain Jerry Rice quickly snapped up New York Giants quarterback Eli Manning for the game, which will be missing some major names.

QBs Tom Brady, Ben Roethlisberger and Carson Palmer all pulled out because of injuries, while Cam Newton cannot play as he gets ready for Super Bowl 50 with the Carolina Panthers.

Irvin also selected two of Wilson's teammates, defensive lineman Michael Bennett and cornerback Richard Sherman, and drafted every player available from his former team, the Dallas Cowboys.

The 2016 Pro Bowl is the NFL's all-star game for the 2015 season, but the event is often viewed as a showcase for up-and-coming talent because those players whose teams advance to the Super Bowl are ineligible to play. The NFL’s biggest game is played a week after the Pro Bowl.

Atlanta Falcons wide receiver Julio Jones was an early pick for Team Irvin, following a season where he made 136 catches for 1,871 yards ‒ the second-highest in NFL history behind the Detroit Lions’ Calvin Johnson.

Team Rice's early selection of Oakland Raiders defensive standout Khalil Mack was recognition for a season in which he was voted as an All-Pro at two positions ‒ defensive end and outside linebacker ‒ making him the first player in history to be voted first-team All-Pro at two positions in the same season.

Perhaps the most heart-warming story of the event was Team Rice's drafting of Kansas City Chiefs safety Eric Berry.

After being diagnosed with Hodgkin's lymphoma in December 2014, Berry battled back from the illness to regain his place in the Chiefs' line-up at the start of the 2015 season.

He helped the Chiefs to an 11-5 record and a Wild Card berth, where they defeated the Houston Texans before narrowly losing to the New England Patriots in the AFC Divisional Round.

The Pro Bowl will be played on Sunday, January 31, in Honolulu's Aloha Stadium.

Here are the team rosters:

Team Irvin

Coach: Winston Moss, Packers
Captain: Devonta Freeman, Falcons
Captain: Geno Atkins, Bengals


QB: Russell Wilson, Seahawks
QB: Jameis Winston, Buccaneers
QB: Teddy Bridgewater, Vikings
FB: Patrick DiMarco, Falcons
RB: Todd Gurley, Rams
RB: Latavius Murray, Raiders
WR: Julio Jones, Falcons
WR: A.J. Green, Bengals
WR: DeAndre Hopkins, Texans
WR: Allen Robinson, Jaguars
TE: Tyler Eifert, Bengals
TE: Delanie Walker, Titans
OG: David DeCastro, Steelers
OG: Zack Martin, Cowboys
OG: Marshal Yanda, Ravens
OT: Branden Albert, Dolphins
OT: Tyron Smith, Cowboys
OT: Andrew Whitworth, Bengals
C: Travis Frederick, Cowboys
C: Alex Mack, Browns


DE: Michael Bennett, Seahawks
DE: Carlos Dunlap, Bengals
DE: Ziggy Ansah, Lions
DT: Calais Campbell, Cardinals
DT: Jurrell Casey, Titans
LB: Sean Lee, Cowboys
LB: Anthony Barr, Vikings
LB: Lavonte David, Buccaneers
LB: NaVorro Bowman, 49ers
LB: Derrick Johnson, Chiefs
CB: Richard Sherman, Seahawks
CB: Desmond Trufant, Falcons
CB: Adam Jones, Bengals
CB: Dominique Rodgers-Cromartie, Giants
S: Malcolm Jenkins, Eagles
S: Reshad Jones, Dolphins
S: Harrison Smith, Vikings

Special Teams

ST: Justin Bethel, Cardinals
KR: Darren Sproles, Eagles
P: Sam Koch, Ravens
K: Dan Bailey, Cowboys

Team Rice

Coach: Andy Reid, Chiefs
Captain: Odell Beckham Jr, Giants
Captain: Aaron Donald, Rams


QB: Eli Manning, Giants
QB: Derek Carr, Raiders
QB: Tyrod Taylor, Bills
FB: John Kuhn, Packers
RB: Adrian Peterson, Vikings
RB: Doug Martin, Buccaneers
RB: Chris Ivory, Jets
WR: Jarvis Landry, Dolphins
WR: Amari Cooper, Raiders
WR: T.Y. Hilton, Colts
TE: Travis Kelce, Chiefs
TE: Gary Barnidge, Browns
OG: Richie Incognito, Bills
OG: Logan Mankins, Buccaneers
OG: Josh Sitton, Packers
OG: Nick Mangold, Jets
OT: Kyle Long, Bears
OT: Joe Staley, 49ers
OT: Joe Thomas, Browns
C: Eric Wood, Bills


DT: Fletcher Cox, Eagles
DT: Gerald McCoy, Buccaneers
DE: Cameron Jordan, Saints
DE: Everson Griffen, Vikings
LB: Elvis Dumervil, Ravens
LB: Julius Peppers, Packers
LB: Tamba Hali, Chiefs
LB: Khalil Mack, Raiders
LB: Clay Matthews, Packers
LB: Bobby Wagner, Seahawks
CB: Marcus Peters, Chiefs
CB: Vontae Davis, Colts
CB: Brent Grimes, Dolphins
CB: Jason Verrett, Chargers
S: Eric Berry, Chiefs
S: Mike Adams, Colts
S: Charles Woodson, Raiders

Special Teams

ST: Cedric Peerman, Chargers
KR: Tyler Lockett, Seahawks
P: Johnny Hekker, Rams
K: Josh Brown, Giants