Europa League roundup: Lokomotiv & Krasnodar win groups, Tottenham smash Monaco

Europa League roundup: Lokomotiv & Krasnodar win groups, Tottenham smash Monaco
Both Lokomotiv Moscow and FK Krasnodar won their respective Europa League groups on Thursday evening, joining the likes of Liverpool, Tottenham and Napoli in the seeded pot for the last 32 draw on Monday.

Lokomotiv topped Group H after beating Albanian champions Skënderbeu in Korçë, with goals from Dmitry Tarasov, Baye Oumar Niasse and Aleksandr Samedov completing a successful opening to the Russian side’s European campaign. They finish ahead of Sporting Lisbon, who dispensed with Turkish giants Beşiktaş 3-1 at the Estádio José Alvalade.

The result of the night arguably came from White Hart Lane, with the in-form Tottenham Hotspur beating AS Monaco 4-1 to secure top spot in Group J.

Mauricio Pochettino’s side comfortably saw off the 2003/04 Champions League finalists - who needed to beat the Premier League side to have any chance of progression - with Argentine winger Erik Lamela scoring a first half hat-trick to put the game to bed.

Anderlecht’s 2-1 win over Azerbaijani champions Qarabag ensured second spot for the Belgian giants.

Impressively, Russian side Krasnodar pipped German giants Borussia Dortmund to top spot in Group C after a comfortable 3-0 win over Qabala, while Braga finished ahead of French side Marseille in Group F.

Molde and Fenerbahçe progressed from Group A after earning 1-1 draws with Ajax and Celtic respectively.

A goalless draw between Group B's top clubs Liverpool and FC Sion at Anfield was enough to see Jurgen Klopp’s Premier League side through as winners, with their Swiss opponents finishing runners-up.

Serie A duo Napoli (Group D) and Lazio (Group G) won their respective groups, with Fiorentina coming second in Group I behind Basel, who beat Polish champions Lech Poznan 1-0.

Schalke topped Group K after seeing off Asteras Tripoli 4-0 in Greece, with Sparta Prague’s 3-1 win over bottom side APOEL securing their place in the last 32.

Rapid Wien (Group E) and Athletic Bilbao (Group L) were the other group winners after Thursday’s last round of games, with the top clubs making up the bulk of the seeded pot for the last 32 draw. The second placed Europa League teams enter the unseeded pot, with those finishing in third place in the Champions’ League group stage dropping down to complete both pots.

The draw for the last 32 is scheduled for noon on Monday December 12th, pitting the 16 seeded teams against the 16 unseeded teams.

Seeded Teams: Molde, Liverpool, Krasnodar, Napoli, Rapid Vienna, Braga, Lazio, Lokomotiv Moscow, Basel, Tottenham, Schalke, Athletic Bilbao, Porto, Olympiacos, Manchester United, Bayer Leverkusen

Unseeded Teams: Fenerbahçe, FC Sion, Borussia Dortmund, Midtjylland, Villarreal, Marseille, St Etienne, Sporting Lisbon, Fiorentina, Anderlecht, Sparta Prague, Augsburg, Sevilla, Valencia, Galatasaray, Shakhtar Donetsk