South Ossetia recognized by tiny nation

A day after recognizing Abkhazia, the island nation Nauru has established diplomatic relations with another former Georgian region, South Ossetia.

The agreement was signed on Wednesday following a visit to South Osseita by a delegation from Nauru.

This doesn’t come as surprise, since the world’s smallest nation promised to recognize South Ossetian independence on Tuesday after signing a similar agreement with Abkhazia.

South Osseitan President Eduard Kokoity told journalists that 10 more states will soon recognize his country’s sovereignty. So far UN members Russia, Nicaragua, Venezuela and Nauru have done so.