icon bookmark-bicon bookmarkicon cameraicon checkicon chevron downicon chevron lefticon chevron righticon chevron upicon closeicon v-compressicon downloadicon editicon v-expandicon fbicon fileicon filtericon flag ruicon full chevron downicon full chevron lefticon full chevron righticon full chevron upicon gpicon insicon mailicon moveicon-musicicon mutedicon nomutedicon okicon v-pauseicon v-playicon searchicon shareicon sign inicon sign upicon stepbackicon stepforicon swipe downicon tagicon tagsicon tgicon trashicon twicon vkicon yticon wticon fm

European Parliament elects new president

European Parliament elects new president
German conservative, Hans-Gert Poettering, will head the EU’s legislative assembly for the next two and a half years. He has been an M.E.P since 1979 and won 450 votes to secure the position.

The close ally of German Chancellor, Angela Merkel, replaces Spanish socialist Josep Borrell, who's been president of the European Parliament since 2004.

Poettering's election was part of a deal which meant he would split the presidency of the parliament's current 5 year term with Borrell.

In his speech given in Strasburg, Hans-Gert Poettering said, “Thank you for putting your trust in me, for the wonderful, but also very responsible tasks that face the president of the European Parliament. I will do everything within my power to ensure that the citizens of the EU, as well as democracy and parliamentary spirit, are properly served. I will do my part for a democratic, strong and active European Union.”

Dear readers and commenters,

We have implemented a new engine for our comment section. We hope the transition goes smoothly for all of you. Unfortunately, the comments made before the change have been lost due to a technical problem. We are working on restoring them, and hoping to see you fill up the comment section with new ones. You should still be able to log in to comment using your social-media profiles, but if you signed up under an RT profile before, you are invited to create a new profile with the new commenting system.

Sorry for the inconvenience, and looking forward to your future comments,

RT Team.