icon bookmark-bicon bookmarkicon cameraicon checkicon chevron downicon chevron lefticon chevron righticon chevron upicon closeicon v-compressicon downloadicon editicon v-expandicon fbicon fileicon filtericon flag ruicon full chevron downicon full chevron lefticon full chevron righticon full chevron upicon gpicon insicon mailicon moveicon-musicicon mutedicon nomutedicon okicon v-pauseicon v-playicon searchicon shareicon sign inicon sign upicon stepbackicon stepforicon swipe downicon tagicon tagsicon tgicon trashicon twicon vkicon yticon wticon fm
25 Feb, 2024 08:49

Early voting opens in Russian presidential election

The main window for people to cast their ballots will be from March 15 to 17
Early voting opens in Russian presidential election

Early voting in the presidential election has kicked off in several Russian regions. The service, largely aimed at citizens who live in remote parts of the country and sailors who will be at sea through the election days, allows those who qualify to cast their ballots starting this Sunday. 

Russian regions may launch early voting after February 25, but it must be completed by March 14, according to election rules.

During Russia's 2018 presidential election around 180,000 people voted early and 31,000 voted at polling stations at sea, the country's Central Election Commission told TASS news agency.

Of the four Russian regions on the frontline of the conflict with Ukraine; voting has already started in Zaporozhye Region; In Kherson Region, early voting will start on Tuesday, and in the Donetsk and Lugansk People’s Republics, it will begin on March 10 and 11. The four former Ukrainian territories all voted to become part of Russia in referendums in 2022.

The main voting period for the 2024 presidential election will be from March 15-17. This is the first time a presidential election will be held over multiple days in the country. The format has been used in other elections in Russia after it was first introduced during the Covid-19 pandemic. 

Four people have been approved by the commission to run for president: Vladislav Davankov of the New People party, the current president, Vladimir Putin, who is running as an independent and is the frontrunner, Leonid Slutsky of the nationalist LDPR party, and Nikolay Kharitonov of the Communist Party.