icon bookmark-bicon bookmarkicon cameraicon checkicon chevron downicon chevron lefticon chevron righticon chevron upicon closeicon v-compressicon downloadicon editicon v-expandicon fbicon fileicon filtericon flag ruicon full chevron downicon full chevron lefticon full chevron righticon full chevron upicon gpicon insicon mailicon moveicon-musicicon mutedicon nomutedicon okicon v-pauseicon v-playicon searchicon shareicon sign inicon sign upicon stepbackicon stepforicon swipe downicon tagicon tagsicon tgicon trashicon twicon vkicon yticon wticon fm
2 Jul, 2020 15:13

Do not pass Moscow! Russia extends Covid-19 foreigner entry ban until August

Do not pass Moscow! Russia extends Covid-19 foreigner entry ban until August

If you’ve been waiting to fly to Russia, you’d better stop holding your breath. On Thursday, the country’s Federal Air Transport Agency announced that coronavirus-related international flight restrictions have been extended again.

Just days after Russian Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov said “I don't know” when asked about the borders opening, we now now know it almost certainly won't be in July.

“Until 23:59 local time, 07/31/2020, there is a temporary restriction on the entry of foreign citizens and stateless persons into the Russian Federation,” a message from Federal Air Transport Agency (Rosaviatsiya) said.

Also on rt.com International air links with Russia may remain closed until fall as EU discusses ban on Russians & Americans entering bloc

Due to the coronavirus pandemic, since March 27, Russia has conducted no regular international passenger travel, with only specially approved flights being allowed to take off and land.

According to newspaper RBC, in early June, Rosaviatsiya asked the country’s consumer rights watchdog to restart international aviation on July 15, but the approval was never received.

Also on rt.com ‘We don’t leave our people behind’: Lavrov speaks to RT about evacuation of Russians stranded abroad over coronavirus

On June 30, the European Union announced that they would be restarting flights to approved countries outside the political bloc, but Russia was not included on the list.

Like this story? Share it with a friend!