Macedonian MPs ratify Greece name deal again

Macedonia’s parliament on Thursday ratified a deal with neighboring Greece for the second time in two weeks, after the Macedonian president temporarily blocked the agreement. A total of 69 lawmakers in the 120-strong parliament approved the deal, under which the country would be renamed “North Macedonia.” All lawmakers from the conservative main opposition party, VMRO-DPMNE, abstained from the vote in protest at the agreement, which they say cedes too much to Greece, AP reported. Macedonia’s parliament initially ratified the deal on June 20, but conservative President Gjorge Ivanov refused to sign off on it, saying it is unconstitutional. Under the constitution, Ivanov can no longer block it after the second ratification vote. However, the president might delay signing off on the deal.