icon bookmark-bicon bookmarkicon cameraicon checkicon chevron downicon chevron lefticon chevron righticon chevron upicon closeicon v-compressicon downloadicon editicon v-expandicon fbicon fileicon filtericon flag ruicon full chevron downicon full chevron lefticon full chevron righticon full chevron upicon gpicon insicon mailicon moveicon-musicicon mutedicon nomutedicon okicon v-pauseicon v-playicon searchicon shareicon sign inicon sign upicon stepbackicon stepforicon swipe downicon tagicon tagsicon tgicon trashicon twicon vkicon yticon wticon fm

Six countries ready to create new peace-keeping force

The Collective Security Treaty Organisation has decided to create a peace-keeping force under UN supervision. The CSTO consists of Russia, Armenia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan.

Secretary General of the organisation, Nikolay Bordyuzha, says the plan to create a peace-keeping force will be presented to the group at a summit in October this year.

“If the plan is approved by the presidents, we want to create a CSTO peace-keeping force that will operate both within the CSTO and beyond, if given a UN mandate,” Nikolay Bordyuzha said.

Post this story to del.icio.us

Dear readers and commenters,

We have implemented a new engine for our comment section. We hope the transition goes smoothly for all of you. Unfortunately, the comments made before the change have been lost due to a technical problem. We are working on restoring them, and hoping to see you fill up the comment section with new ones. You should still be able to log in to comment using your social-media profiles, but if you signed up under an RT profile before, you are invited to create a new profile with the new commenting system.

Sorry for the inconvenience, and looking forward to your future comments,

RT Team.