Russian PM to be Gazprom chair?

Russia's Prime Minister Viktor Zubkov and the Trade and Economic Development Minister, Elvira Nabiullina, have been approved as candidates to the new board of directors of the country's largest energy company Gazprom.

June 27 has also been set as the date of the company's annual general meeting, when shareholders will vote on a new chairman and board.

At the AGM, Gazprom shareholders will elect eleven board members out of nineteen candidates who are on the final list.

Viktor Zubkov is also the top candidate to be elected as the new chairman of Gazprom's board, replacing Dmitry Medvedev, who's the front-runner in this year's presidential elections.