icon bookmark-bicon bookmarkicon cameraicon checkicon chevron downicon chevron lefticon chevron righticon chevron upicon closeicon v-compressicon downloadicon editicon v-expandicon fbicon fileicon filtericon flag ruicon full chevron downicon full chevron lefticon full chevron righticon full chevron upicon gpicon insicon mailicon moveicon-musicicon mutedicon nomutedicon okicon v-pauseicon v-playicon searchicon shareicon sign inicon sign upicon stepbackicon stepforicon swipe downicon tagicon tagsicon tgicon trashicon twicon vkicon yticon wticon fm

Non-permanent Security Council members have their say on Iran

Non-permanent Security Council members have their say on Iran
The United Nation's Security Council is debating amendments to the resolution over Iran's nuclear programme proposed by three non-permanent members: South Africa, Qatar and Indonesia.

South Africa offers the most radical changes including the lifting of a partial arms embargo and minimising financial restrictions.

Russia's envoy to the UN, Vitaly Churkin, said that some of proposed amendments could make the text of the resolution better, but added that the UN's five permanent members are united in the key positions of the resolution.