No sanctions for Iran?

Six countries discussing how to deal with the Iranian nuclear programme have agreed not to impose sanctions on Tehran. The new resolution was proposed by Moscow and will be submitted to the U.N. Security Council.

Russia’s Foreign minister, Sergey Lavrov, said the resolution confirms previous decisions made by the UN and calls on Iran to fulfill them.

Five permanent members of the UN Security Council – U.S., Great Britain, Russia, France and China – plus Germany are involved in the six-party talks.

“The brief draft resolution was prepared and it was coordinated among six foreign ministers. Ut was decided that this draft resolution will be introduced to the consultation of the Council tomorrow, with the expectation that it may be voted on even tomorrow if non-permanent members are prepared for that,” Russia's UN Ambassador, Vitaly Churkin, said.