icon bookmark-bicon bookmarkicon cameraicon checkicon chevron downicon chevron lefticon chevron righticon chevron upicon closeicon v-compressicon downloadicon editicon v-expandicon fbicon fileicon filtericon flag ruicon full chevron downicon full chevron lefticon full chevron righticon full chevron upicon gpicon insicon mailicon moveicon-musicicon mutedicon nomutedicon okicon v-pauseicon v-playicon searchicon shareicon sign inicon sign upicon stepbackicon stepforicon swipe downicon tagicon tagsicon tgicon trashicon twicon vkicon yticon wticon fm

N Ireland gets new government

N Ireland gets new government
Northern Ireland's Protestant and Catholic leaders have been sworn in to a new power-sharing government. Hardline Protestant cleric Ian Paisley and former IRA leader Martin McGuinness became First Minister and Deputy respectively.

The agreement ends five years of direct rule from London.

Northern Ireland has struggled to win political stability since a 1998 peace accord ended 30 years of conflict, killing more than 3,500 people.