EU drops restrictions on Russian airlines

Restrictions on 13 Russian airlines flying to countries in the EU have been lifted. Among them are well-known carriers, such as Lukoil-Avia, Gazprom-Avia, Tatarstan and Yakutia Airlines.

The agreement on dropping the ban was signed between the European Union and the Federal Air Transport Agency on Thursday.

Regulations on the flights were introduced in 2007, when checks showed that the carriers did not meet safety regulations.

Now, all Russian airlines certified for international flights can fly to EU countries.

The European Commission has warned it would take action against any companies that violate air safety standards.