icon bookmark-bicon bookmarkicon cameraicon checkicon chevron downicon chevron lefticon chevron righticon chevron upicon closeicon v-compressicon downloadicon editicon v-expandicon fbicon fileicon filtericon flag ruicon full chevron downicon full chevron lefticon full chevron righticon full chevron upicon gpicon insicon mailicon moveicon-musicicon mutedicon nomutedicon okicon v-pauseicon v-playicon searchicon shareicon sign inicon sign upicon stepbackicon stepforicon swipe downicon tagicon tagsicon tgicon trashicon twicon vkicon yticon wticon fm

CIS marks its 15th anniversary

CIS marks its 15th anniversary
The Commonwealth of Independent States has been celebrating its 15th anniversary. In 1991 in Alma-Ata the leaders of 11 former Soviet republics signed a charter, establishing the CIS.

Three Baltic States – Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania – refused to join CIS.
Georgia joined the alliance in 1993 but in 2006 it officially withdrew from the Council of Defence Ministers, saying it wanted to join NATO and it was not possible to have of two military structures simultaneously.
In 2005 Turkmenistan moved from a permanent member to an associate member.
The main goal of CIS is co-operation and integration in economic, defense and foreign policy.

Dear readers and commenters,

We have implemented a new engine for our comment section. We hope the transition goes smoothly for all of you. Unfortunately, the comments made before the change have been lost due to a technical problem. We are working on restoring them, and hoping to see you fill up the comment section with new ones. You should still be able to log in to comment using your social-media profiles, but if you signed up under an RT profile before, you are invited to create a new profile with the new commenting system.

Sorry for the inconvenience, and looking forward to your future comments,

RT Team.