icon bookmark-bicon bookmarkicon cameraicon checkicon chevron downicon chevron lefticon chevron righticon chevron upicon closeicon v-compressicon downloadicon editicon v-expandicon fbicon fileicon filtericon flag ruicon full chevron downicon full chevron lefticon full chevron righticon full chevron upicon gpicon insicon mailicon moveicon-musicicon mutedicon nomutedicon okicon v-pauseicon v-playicon searchicon shareicon sign inicon sign upicon stepbackicon stepforicon swipe downicon tagicon tagsicon tgicon trashicon twicon vkicon yticon wticon fm
30 Mar, 2008 09:47

Airport checks lifted for new EU states

Flying within Europe has become even easier, with passport checks lifted for the most recent EU member states. From now on, checks will only be carried out on non-Schengen flights.

The nine new states, including the Czech Republic and Poland, joined the Schengen Agreement last December. Twenty-four countries are now part of the continents so-called borderless travel zone.

The Schengen agreement eases border controls between participating states across Europe and has been in effect for more than ten years.

Checks at sea and land borders were lifted last December.