icon bookmark-bicon bookmarkicon cameraicon checkicon chevron downicon chevron lefticon chevron righticon chevron upicon closeicon v-compressicon downloadicon editicon v-expandicon fbicon fileicon filtericon flag ruicon full chevron downicon full chevron lefticon full chevron righticon full chevron upicon gpicon insicon mailicon moveicon-musicicon mutedicon nomutedicon okicon v-pauseicon v-playicon searchicon shareicon sign inicon sign upicon stepbackicon stepforicon swipe downicon tagicon tagsicon tgicon trashicon twicon vkicon yticon wticon fm

Russia may soon become transit country for goods between Europe & Asia

Russia may soon become transit country for goods between Europe & Asia
The strengthening cooperation between the member states of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) allows Russia to proceed with transit opportunities between Asia and Europe.

That’s according to the head of the Russian Federal Customs Service (FSC), Vladimir Bulavin, who was talking at a session of the St. Petersburg International Economic Forum (SPIEF-2019) on Thursday.

“The level of development of bilateral and multilateral relationship suggests that in the near future there will definitely be a breakthrough which will allow the SCO countries to realize potential transit opportunities between Asia and Europe,” Bulavin said.

Also on rt.com Russia backs switching to national currencies in settlements between SCO countries

He said that the FCS along with its Chinese colleagues had successfully held mutual recognition of the customs control system. 

In addition, the sides agreed on a system for managing risk and sharing information about goods and transportation which will pass state borders.

The Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO), which is widely regarded as the ‘alliance of the East’, is the world’s largest regional organization in terms of geographical coverage and population. It covers three-fifths of the Eurasian continent and nearly half of the world population.

Also on rt.com Russia & China to ink dozens of deals during St. Petersburg Economic Forum

The agreement establishing the SCO was inked in 2001 by six founding states – Russia, China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan. In 2017, India and Pakistan became full-fledged members of the SCO. Afghanistan, Belarus, Iran, and Mongolia currently enjoy observer status, while Sri Lanka, Turkey, Azerbaijan, Armenia, Cambodia, and Nepal are dialogue partners.

Last year, Russian Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev said Moscow backs switching to national currencies in settlements between the SCO member states which could open new prospects for the alliance.

The central banks of BRICS countries, as well as the SCO and the Russia-led Eurasian Economic Union (EEU), are already working on developing a joint payment space.

For more stories on economy & finance visit RT's business section

Dear readers and commenters,

We have implemented a new engine for our comment section. We hope the transition goes smoothly for all of you. Unfortunately, the comments made before the change have been lost due to a technical problem. We are working on restoring them, and hoping to see you fill up the comment section with new ones. You should still be able to log in to comment using your social-media profiles, but if you signed up under an RT profile before, you are invited to create a new profile with the new commenting system.

Sorry for the inconvenience, and looking forward to your future comments,

RT Team.