icon bookmark-bicon bookmarkicon cameraicon checkicon chevron downicon chevron lefticon chevron righticon chevron upicon closeicon v-compressicon downloadicon editicon v-expandicon fbicon fileicon filtericon flag ruicon full chevron downicon full chevron lefticon full chevron righticon full chevron upicon gpicon insicon mailicon moveicon-musicicon mutedicon nomutedicon okicon v-pauseicon v-playicon searchicon shareicon sign inicon sign upicon stepbackicon stepforicon swipe downicon tagicon tagsicon tgicon trashicon twicon vkicon yticon wticon fm

Unrecognized nations: Basque country

The Basque country is an autonomous community and historic region of northern Spain.
It was established by the statute of autonomy of 1979.

Its government consists of a president and a parliament, with a capital in Vitoria-Gasteiz.

Learn more about the people, their traditions, political views and a language with no relationship to any other European language with RT correspondent Aleksandr Luchaninov, only on Russia Today.