The hidden war

At the beginning of the 20th Century, Georgia, South Ossetia and Abkhazia were provinces in the Russian Empire. In 1917 Georgia left Russia, but South Ossetia and Abkhazia refused to join the new Georgian Democratic Republic. At the time, the first Georgian-Abkhazian and Georgian-Ossetian conflict flared up. RT investigates this complicated territorial issue in a new XL Report.